Views:

Enable and configure versioning in a SharePoint Online list or library

  1. Go to the library or list for which you want to enable versioning.

  2. Click Settings Gear shaped settings button , and then click Library Settings or List Settings

    Settings menu with Library Settings selected or Settings menu with List settings highlighted

  3. Click Versioning Settings on the settings page.

    Library settings dialog with Versioning selected.
  4. In the Version Settings page, you have the following settings available:

    • For a Document library

      Versioning choices dialog box
      • Require content approval for submitted items.

      • Create a version each time you edit a file in this document library using either major versions only, or major and minor versions.

      • Limit the number of versions and drafts to retain.

      • Set who can see draft items.

      • Require documents to be checked before they can be edited.

    • For a List

      • Require content approval for submitted items.

      • Create a version each time you edit an item in the list.

      • Limit the number of versions and drafts to retain.

      • Set who can see draft items in the list.

  5. Click OK.

To disable versioning in a SharePoint Online list or library

Do the same steps for enabling, but click No versioning on the Version Settings page. You can also check No for Require content approval.

To View, Restore, or Delete an earlier version in a SharePoint Online list or library

To restore an earlier version of a document, follow these steps.

  1. Go to the list or library with the item or document for which you want to view history.

  2. Click the ellipses (...) next to the item for which you want to view history.

  3. Click Version History.

    Document library right click menu with version history highlighted

    If you don't see Version History, click the more, and then click Version History.

  4. In the Version History dialog box, hover your mouse over the date link on an earlier version and click the down arrow to show the menu.

    Version dropdown dialog button
  5. In the menu, you can do the following.

    Version item menu
    • View the current document. This will bring up a dialog where you can edit, restore, or delete, as well as see the current approval status.

    • Restore the document. This option displays a dialog asking if you want to make it the currently approved document. It will add it as a new version.

    • Delete the document. This option displays a dialog asking if you're sure you want to send the item to the Recycle Bin.

    • Reject this version. This only shows up on approved documents, rather than Delete.

  6. When you're done, click the X in the upper right corner.